News Briefs: JCAHO signs agreement with the Leapfrog Group

The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) in Oakbrook Terrace, IL, has signed a partnership agreement with The Leapfrog Group and will provide input on the group’s future patient safety initiatives. "The Joint Commission welcomes this opportunity to collaborate with the purchaser community in support of patient safety," says Dennis S. O’Leary, MD, president of the Joint Commission.

"The Leapfrog Group’s work symbolizes the priority accorded to patient safety by those key stakeholders — purchasers, accreditors, and health care providers — who will eventually have the greatest impact in making improvements happen."

In the first major collaboration effort between the two parties, the Joint Commission has begun work with Leapfrog leaders to pursue the identification of a specific set of ICU-related outcome and process measures. These measures may eventually be used to supplement or even replace the current Leapfrog measures that recommend that hospitals have board-certified or board-eligible intensivists.