Starting in 2017, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) provided new Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes for care management payment.

Here are the codes and descriptions:

  • G0502: Initial psych care management, 70 minutes.
  • G0503: Subsequent psych care management, 60 minutes.
  • G0504: Initial/subsequent psych care management, additional 30 minutes.
  • G0507: Care management services, minimum 20 minutes.

The G0507 must include:

  • Initial assessment or follow-up monitoring, including use of applicable validated rating scales.
  • Behavioral healthcare planning in relation to behavioral/psychiatric health problems, including revision for patients who are not progressing or whose status changes.
  • Facilitating and coordinating treatment, such as psychotherapy, pharmacotherapy, counseling, and/or psychiatric consultation.
  • Continuity of care with a designated member of the care team.

Source: AIMS Center, University of Washington;